Help with land itinerary for July 2012

capital6

After getting some very strong feedback regarding cruisetours with children, and reading other forum posts, I've decided to drop the land portion of the tour. But, now I am putting together a land tour of my own that begins in Seward (where our Cruise ends) and ends in Anchorage (to fly home). I was thinking of the following but am open to any feedback as it's difficult to judge driving times, etc... Also, is renting a car the best way to do this or should I be looking at the train?

Day 1: Seward: Kenai Fjords Tour and/or Seavy Iditarod Centre

Day 2: Drive to Girdwood: Ascending Path Hike of the rainforest

Day 3 & 4: Drive to Healy as base for 2 days of Denali National Park: Tundra Wilderness Tour & River rafting

Day 5: Dr. to Talkeetna

Day 6: Dr. to Anchorage & fly home

:confused:

I am a retired biology teacher so I am a little biased --I think your children would enjoy the Sea Life Center in Seward --check out their behind-the scenes and specialty tours. I would also go with the Seavy visit rather than the boat trip. Depends on how much your children like boat trips and their interests.

There are lots of places to stop between Girdwood/Anchorage and Healey--have a look at the day drives out of Anchorage at Alaska.org or Bell's Alaska for the details.

I have been putting togather a similar land trip to follow a cruise and have found trip advisor's experts very helpful.

Their key advice is to book car hire asap as it gets more expensive later and for you to consider perhaps taking a bus or train from Seward to Anchorage ( I think it can be done in an evening after a Fjords cruise or other activities) and doing car rental from Anchorage - not airport - rather than pay a large one way fee.

The longer trip Denali shuttle buses are also recommended - much cheaper than tour buses and allow getting off and on again for a short hike.