If you are bringing your own toddler cot, do you really need a room with a pull bed?

ebandive

Hi folks - I'm not new to cruising but I'm new to cruising with a kid(s). Just planning (way) ahead, and have a quick question.

We would cruise with a just turned two year old and possibly a four year old. We were hoping for an aft balcony, however aft balcony's on Carnival only seem built to hold 3 - even though our 4th would be in our own toddler cot. Do we really need a room for 4? If so, it doesn't appear we can get an aft balcony, which is a bummer. Hoping to cruise on Carnival since they have the kids program for age 2 and up, right? :o Sorry, just trying to make sure I get all my facts straight. Obviously, I would pay for them both - I'm just asking why I need a room with a pull down 4th bed that we would not use. ??? The 4 year old would be in the convertible couch, and the 2 y/o on the cot.

The cruise lines usually require you to have a cabin with a berth for each passenger, so even though my girls and I shared a bed when they were toddlers, we were required to be in a cabin with a 3rd bed, even if was never going to be used.

Best,

Mia

Yes because they need a proper head count. It's not the beds that matter, they don't care where you or anyone else sleeps. You could all sleep on the floor in the bathroom if you so desired.

But seriously:

If every room had 1 extra person in it, the ship would be waaaaay over capacity. Hundreds of people over, which would be a huge problem in the case of an emergency requiring lifeboats.

For our upcoming cruise my husband, son(a baby) and I were required to book a triple even though he sleeps with us. We found it was nearly the same price to book 2 double rooms and bring my mother along!

Sorry, not the answer you wanted to hear. You'll enjoy your cruise even without the aft.