Question about cruising to Canada

bougiet

Hello all,

I leave on the 12th from Boston on the Glory to St.John. I have never done a cruise to Canada before and am curious as to what the weather will be like. I have a feeling during the day it will be warm but at night does it get chilly? I also hear the St. John can be dreary and cold. Any information would be fantastic. Thank you in advance.

DH and I did NY to St John's 5 years ago this week. It was very cold. Outer decks were closed because of fog and high winds. Dont get me wrong we had a very nice and relaxing time. Read, drank coffee, played games and slept. As the parents of 3 boys, one having special needs it was nice to get away alone. But... bring jeans and a sweat shirt. Best to have them and not use them. We had to buy sweatshirts onboard. St Johns was very nice. It was in the high 70's. Make sure you hit the market right near the port. We did the tour out to the caves and some fishing village. I don't remember the name but it was worth it. Enjoy.

We did the June 10th sailing on the Glory a few weeks ago. I had no idea what to pack! I almost left our bathing suits at home thinking it would be too cold for swimming.

The day we departed Boston the lido deck looked like a Caribbean sailing! So did the following sea day. We spent two full days by the pool! The weather was gorgeous in the 80's.

Saint John was sunny in the 70's.

However, the next sea day was cold and raining. I forgot a light sweater and was freezing!

You really must pack for all types of weather. It stinks because it's a shorter cruise you think you can cut down on luggage but you really need to pack more than on a traditional Caribbean sailing.