Wine Corkage Fee in Cabin?

CapCrunch

Sorry for my first post to be about this possibly argumentative topic. But (a) it's my first cruise ever coming up so all this is new to me (ok, I was on a cruise when I was four!), and (b) the cruise I am going on they aren't offering a drink package. I wish they were, I'd gladly purchase it. I also have no problem paying for drinks on board - I looked at the menus and the prices aren't too bad. But, anyway, I have a few questions.

(1) So you can bring wine on board, and they charge an uncorking fee when you drink a bottle in a restaurant, etc. Fine, that makes sense. But they also charge an uncorking fee when you drink a bottle in your cabin? How will they know if I'm drinking a bottle in my cabin, and what if it's a screw-off cap? Or champagne, which you need no corkscrew for (all I need is a washcloth - I'm an expert!). Are you expected to call the front desk and tell them you're about to open one? Do they charge you the uncorking fee when you bring the bottle(s) on board? I'd just like to know how this works, I don't even mind paying the $15/bottle. I know you can't bring a case of wine onboard, but how many bottles can you bring? I wouldn't bring more than maybe four or so, just wondering. Maybe I'd only bring two. If they do charge you when you board, do you get a refund if you disembark with unopened bottles? Maybe not likely, but possible.

(2) So all your bags go through an x-ray machine when you board? Wow, I thought that would only be on the flight. Do you also have to go through an x-ray machine yourself?