18 & 19: Too young?

iteachny

Hey there, I'm currently a freshman at a state university in Upstate New York, and I'm looking to plan a summer cruise out of New York City with a few of my college friends. At the time of the cruise, two of us will be 18, and two of us will be 19. We chose Princess because it seems to be one of the only lines where we can travel without someone who is 21 or over.

I've taken a bunch of cruises with my family in the past, but my friends have never gone cruising before, and I've certainly never gone without my family, so I'm a bit worried that we might not enjoy ourselves if there are no adults with us. Are we too young to be doing a trip like this? Do other groups of college students take trips like this? Are we going to feel out of place in the dining halls? What sort of activities will there be for us?

Also, what dates do you think will have the most people our age? We are looking for the Crown in May or June. Since we all live in the NYC metro area, we won't have to fly if we leave from NY.

Thanks in advance.

I don't think so, my sons who are now 20 and 22 have gone numerous times with us and we never see them. They find plenty of people to hang out with. If you take the Crown out of New York, we have done that cruise twice. It is awesome. I dont think you will have any problems if you all apreciate the surroundings and act accordingly. The dining room allows you to eat with the four of you or share a table with others and then of course you can hit the buffet too. :)

I think late May or early June would be good as far as prices.

Someone will surely correct me if I'm wrong, but I thought that you had to be accompanied by someone 21 or over if you are under 21 to book a cruise on Princess (from the passage contract).

5. AGE REQUIREMENTS; DRINKING AGE; GAMING AGE; ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES.