Booking airfare through Priceline?

SportsMomof4

Have you done it? How did it work out?

I am eyeing a flight for 8 that goes from NYC to JAX through Delta day after Christmas. Price keeps going from $219 to $254. I've tried to purchase at $219 but I'm not quick enough.

Wondering if I purchase it at $254 & it goes back down to $219 if Priceline will give refund? I only see info about price matching from other websites. Delta charges $150 to do price drops. If Priceline does it without a fee, I'd rather purchase through them.

I have no experience with Priceline Air, however, I use Priceline on a regular basis for hotels rooms and the name your price tool. In my experience they do not give refunds for anything ever.

Sometimes it's a big savings to fly into Orlando rather than Jacksonville even enough to justify the rental car "sometimes".

Good luck!

The problem is that you're trying to purchase 8 tix at $219. They probably have less that 8 tix at that price, so automatically bump up to higher price that has 8 tix in that price group.

Try buying 6, if that doesn't work, drop down to 4, etc.

But be aware that not all tickets are the same. Read the sticky at the top about consolidator tickets,,, the sticky is called Cruise Air and Air Deviation,,, then make an informed decision.

Edited by klfrodo

That's exactly the problem! Didn't realize that....thank you!

Of course, the flip side is that you will now have your tickets under at least 2 separate reservations. If there is a flight change or cancellation, you will be automatically rebooked, but not necessarily on the same flights. If that happens, you can call Delta and try to get together again, but Christmas holiday flights are usually full and they may not be able to accommodate you. So..... make sure there is at least one responsible adult in each reservation, so you don't end up with feeble Aunt Millie or a teenager being "in charge" of the rest of the kids.