Wen

kayehall

I've been using WEN for about 4 yrs. I have thick, wavy hair and this is the best stuff I've used. Occasionally, I try using shampoo and conditioner and these don't work as well as WEN. My hair is more manageable and soft. My hair stays better between shampoos. I only do one cleansing and this seems to work for me.

Wen is based on the Co-washing method (conditioner only washing method). You can get the same results by using a basic silicone-free conditioner. You need silicone free because they (silicones) can cause buildup on the hair (making it look gunky and tangly eventually) depending on which kind it is. There are some water-soluble silicones, which can be removed by conditioner only washing, but most aren't. Personally I use Suave Naturals, super cheap, and silicone free. When you CO-wash you wash differently than shampoo since the surfectants in conditioners are much much milder than the detergents in shampoo. You have to put a LOT of conditioner in, (I have super thin hair and I use two palmfuls of conditioner) and you need to actually scrub your scalp and hair thoroughly, instead of just sloshing shampoo around. I usually scrub twice, and rinse in between. I've done this method for a whole year before, hair was clean, but it does feel slightly different since it isn't stripped completely (aka more moisturized, and shinier). While you can do this method for a long time, you might need to use a sulfate shampoo occasionally to clarify, in case you use styling products. The one downfall of this method is that the conditioner doesn't have strong enough surfectants to remove these extra styling products, I don't use them on a normal basis, so I didn't have that problem. The only reason I quit this method was because I got lazy and liked the convenience of shampoos saving a few minutes in the shower. TBH, don't waste your money on an expensive "cleansing" conditioner, regular conditioner is the exact same thing.