Hi, Im a newbie.

ruby1966

We are a family of 2 adults and two kids 11 and 15.

We are new to cruising but we are looking at an alternative to Florida and a cruise looked like it would provide us with plenty to keep the kids occupiedas we hate sitting by a pool all day.

We are looking at a 12 night med cruise on adventure of the seas (haven't booked yet).

We all really want to give it a try but are really worried about sea sickness as we will be crossing the bay of Biscay. I am sick on small vessels and sick on take off and landing on planes.

I would appreciate any thoughts please:)

Most people do not have a problem. There is a huge difference between small vessels and large, modern cruise ships. The cruise ships all have stablizers that reduce the movement. In addition, there are medications you can take if it is a problem.

Generally speaking the bigger the vessel the more stable it is and less likelihood of seasickness. Obviously everybody reacts differently but I can get motion sickness in cars and I've never had a problem on a ship.

Our first cruise I took Bonine the day before and everyday of the cruise as I was worried about getting sick. The second cruise I took them with me but never took any and now we don't even bother.

One other thing to mention is I booked a balcony for our first cruise (and every cruise since, how can you stop?) because, again, I was concerned about getting seasick. I wanted to be able to get some air quickly if I started feeling queasy. Might be something else to think about if you hadn't planned to already.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

The ships Dr will be able to give you an injection to stop sickness if it gets bad - they work really well (according to my husband who gets sick in a rowing boat!)