concierge progam

I am new to regent lines and have now finished getting a cruise booked ..Please be patient this might be a long post.

I have done quite a bit of reading on this forum about the new program that will be offered starting next year (April to June timeframe).

I had to phone to finish up a couple of details before they (phone reps) turned it over to my local TA..and I took the opportunity to express my thoughts on this new program.

Before I get to their reaction, I must admit I am a bit torn on my reaction. Coming from other cruise lines that offer this kind of "stuff" as (perhaps) incentives, this is common place. Witness the blatant class distinction on another line where if you are suite guest you get to bypass just about every line everywhere and get preferred seating for everything from shows to dining. Now, other cruise lines are a bit more "careful" how they do this as to not offend others, for example on HAL and the Neptune lounge...quite frankly unless you know it is there and you literally wander each floor you would not see it.

Besides of course the very good price I got, one of the biggest attraction to this line (RSSC) was the fact that once you step on the ship, you are just like everyone else, and from reading on this board, assured that no one judged you any different.. Sure the cabin may be bigger and you have a butler, but you and others have equal access to dining and other items like the shore excursions. And this is where the other side of my reaction hits, the fact that once the new program comes into effect - it becomes an obvious tiered program - pay more - get in...In amusement parks like Disney and or Universal this may sell, but on a close small(er) ship that purports you are like "family" - and one that is certainly trying to pull business from other lines, this seems to me to be a recipe for disaster.

So, I asked the nice rep on the phone the whole story. She told me exactly what you read on the corporate site.