collector's cruise in the med

nikita606

I am new to Holland America. Next summer I would like to take a 24 night collector's cruise in the med. I specifically would like to visit Istanbul. I have been watching, waiting, and calling Holland America about if or when there will be a collector's cruise in the med next summer. At first I was told to wait until May. Now I am told that they may not have a collector's cruise in the med next year. Just wondering if anyone here knows when these cruises (looking at the Nieuw Amsterdam) are usually announced?

There is a 28 night Prinsendam Collectors (Med & Black Sea) in September which has an overnight stay in Istanbul.

Alternatively you could look at 2 consecutive cruises and do them 'back to back'. Although these would not be a 'Collectors' cruise and you might pay slightly more it would still give you the same cruise as you would get if it were a Collectors.

Next summer, Noordam and Nieuw Amsterdam both have 11 and 12 night cruises calling at Istanbul. Have a look at the cruises immediately before and after these and see if anything suits.

All the schedules for summer 2013 are now out, so the only way for a Collectors to be announced now is by HAL combining 2 existing cruises as I have mentioned above.

Hope this helps

Edited to say: CruiserBruce posted while I was typing

If there is a cruise that we are interested in and we don't see it as a Collectors Cruise, we still go ahead and book them as back-to-back cruises. We book our cruises months in advance so that we can get the cabin that we want. About 9 or 10 months before the cruise we have noticed that the majority of our back-to-back cruises turn in Collectors Cruises.

HAL does give us the lower price -- not much savings and then we have only 1 booking number.

So you have a choice of booking your cruises right now as back-to-back cruises or waiting until when HAL decides to make them a Collectors Cruise. I can't imagine HAL not making Collectors Cruises.