Istanbul hotel Post-Cruise

I am doing a r/t cruise from Istanbul and need a hotel for one night post-cruise. I had hoped to use Marriott points but the Marriott does not seem to be in a good location for the historic sights. I found a bunch of Best Westerns in old town and wonder if they are equally good or if one is better than the rest. This is my first time in Istanbul so I appreciate any suggestions.

In Sultanahmet, where the historic sites are, there are mostly boutique style hotels. Do a search on Trip Advisor. I am going to Turkey for 2weeks and will be back on 6/8/13. I can let you know how the hotel was where I stayed. :)

Completely agree. We stayed in a small hotel (boutique is the new word) on Amiral Tafdil Sk which is 2'ish blocks down the hill from Hagia Sophia, etc, etc. Excellent location, many small well kept hotels in the area, restaurants etc. The hospitality in these Turkish hotels is wonderful. Very old-fashioned, respectful, want you to feel 'at home', relax with a cup of tea, enjoy.

I completely agree too. I used to work for one of the international hotel chains and even though I still get preferred rates, etc. Istanbul is one place I never use them - staying in one of the 'boutique' hotels (plenty of reviews on Tripadvisor) is by far the best way to go.. The standards are high, the staff are extremely helpful, and most offer included breakfast, complimentary afternoon tea/snacks, or a happy hour in the early evenings. Sightseeing is easy in the old city, either on foot or by tram. Many of the boutique hotels in Sultanahmet have roof terraces with fantastic views of the Blue Mosque, Haghia Sofia, Sea of Marmara, etc. etc. Finally, the rates are a steal compared to the big name hotels...

Anne

Edited by Jayayeff

We had to do the same thing for our cruise in October. Went to Hotwire and found a deal at a 4 star-- it turned out to be Athens Lotus Hotel Chiou 9