Royal vs Carnival - Help

CallieS

Hi everyone! I'm new to the RCCL boards, so please be patient. I've been on two Carnival cruises in the past two years to the Western Carribbean. Needless to say, I'm hooked on cruising. So now it's time to plan our next cruise (Eastern this time). I'd like to know if anyone has sailed on both Carnival and Royal Caribbean and why RCCL is better. I greatly enjoyed Carnival, but wouldn't want to miss out on something even better...if it exists. My main two concerns are the food and average age of the passengers (I'm 26, and I hear some other cruise lines are more for the senior citizens). I imagine most other amenities are very similar. Please share your thoughts and insights. Thanks!!!

As you can see from my signature below, I have been on both Carnival and RCCL several times. I prefer RCCL. But I am married and 36 years old.

Carnival is more glitz and glamour. They are of course the fun ship and they do live up to that name. You will not find people partying into the wee hours on RCCL. Average age for passengers is about the same though. RCCL is a little more service oriented and subdued. They do not sing and dance on the tables in the dining room for example.

One of my friends who is 30 just came back from her first RCCL cruise and said she prefered Carnival. The staff is a little "crazier" and more fun perhaps. For me it boils down to whether or not you like to "party like a rock star" or prefer a more relaxed, laid back vacation. Hope that helps.

I've cruised twice on Carnival Destiny in '01 and '02 and just got off RCI's Serenade of the Seas.

There was alot more of a party atmosphere on Carnival, but the cleanliness and quality of service on The Serenade blew the Destiny clear out of the water. The Serenade was SPOTLESS. I saw bugs and spider webs on the Destiny and just figured that was normal for a ship at sea. Not true.