Washing laundry in Port Cities

Tessis2cool

In one of our port cities that we will be stopping in I am familiar with the area and I was hoping to take some laundry to a local laundromat to do. It would be a limited amount that I would take in a beach bag. I also plan to wash some items in my room. Is there any unforseeable issue to taking laundry off the ship if it doesn't get rolled out in a suitcase? A fellow cruiser said to be aware of taking a suitcase off the ship and bringing it back on. Honestly I hadn't planned to take a suitcase and since I am new to cruising I didn't think about doing laundry off the ship as being an issue. I am from this area too and have family nearby.  I am taking a 3 week cruise so I am trying to minimize what I bring and rewash items if/when needed.

Many cruise lines offer a 'fill a bag' laundry promotion half way thru the cruise, which may be more economical, at least if time is more valuable than money.  Hand washing in your bathroom sink is an option for underwear, and maybe easy care shirts/tops.  We have done that using magnets over the bathtub to hang the wet shirts.   You could use the laundry promotion to wash heavier items like pants, jeans, etc.

If you are on a cruise for weeks, then I would suggest just buying the laundry package.  It makes those longer cruises that much more enjoyable.

Thank you! I know about the special promotions and the bag is really small not that I intend to wash heavy items. In case of an emergency spill, my husband can't fit a lot into a paper bag that I see people showing. I didn't know if there would be a laundry package offered. I don't dry some of my clothes, I hand dry them so that is my preference for some items to be washed by myself. We are sailing on Norwegian Encore. I do know we will receive one free wash and then a bag for $29.00.