Paid for an upgrade...was this a good deal?

Moogy

A few weeks ago, we got good prices through AAA for a SY suite on the Oosterdam sailing to Alaska 5/20/06. When I went to pick up my travel documents today, they told me I could upgrade to an SB or SC for $199/person, with no extra charge for the third person in our cabin. By the time we got it reserved, it was an SA suite...near the middle of the ship, and near the Neptune Lounge.

I am a newbie, but this looked like a good deal to me. What do you think? Looking at the extras for suite passengers, I see that we will not use all of them. I guess we will use the Lounge, since it is near our cabin. But early boarding won't do much for us, since my dad in the wheelchair will also get early boarding for us, I think. The free laundry will be nice. The BIGGER ROOM was the main reason I switched.

Any comments? Did I get a good deal? What other suite ammenities have you found to be worth the price?

Will I ever be able to cruise again? After starting with such a high level suite, will I ever want anything less?

Moogy :D

Hi again, Moogy,

An SY is not a true suite so I think you did get a good deal. If you sent your laundry out several times, or bought the unlimted package, you'd at least pay

$70 or more with dry cleaning.

Your SA is bigger, has a more or less separate sleeping area, a table on the veranda big enough to seat 4, a separate dressing room, and concierge services, priority tendering, hors d'ouerves in the room at your request, corsage on 1st formal night, welcome champagne, and a free fare for the 3rd person? I think that's great!

I think that you really did well. Congratulations! I also think that you'll love the Oosterdam. Have a great sail to Alaska.

GN

That sounds like a wonderful deal:) Our first time on the Oosterdam was to Alaska. I just want to warn you though once you have had a Full S Suite it will be hard to step down. Have a great cruise you will definitely enjoy it.:cool: