Curfews and after Dinner Activities

BrodyBarb

I'm new to cruising and will be cruisin' with my 10 and 14 year old sons.

They're pretty well behaved but I was wondering what other parents did with their kids after dinner if they weren't at the kids programs.

Also, what kind of curfew do you have for your kids?

How much freedom do they have to wander around day or night? (esp. after reading the elevator horror stories on another thread!)

I'm pretty strict when it comes to what my kids watch and I'm not sure whether some of the shows would be suitable for them?? (never seen them)

I don't want to spoil their cruise but I don't want to give them too much freedom. My husband won't be going so I'm a bit worried about how it will turn out. I would like to lay down the ground rules before we leave but because it will be a new environment I'm not sure how far to go with the rules.

Advice and experiences would be greatly appreciated!

BrodyBarb...... Your children will be old enough to wander around on their own...not a problem. I'm not sure how the children's program works on Carnival..... but on Celebrity, at age 10.....my daughter signs herself in and out of the program herself.

I would allow them freedom....and have them check in with you periodically.

About the content of the shows: I have only been on one Carnival cruise (without my children)....two years ago....Celebration....and I thought the evening show was very inappropriate. Very sexual....and I would have walked out immediately if my children were there. One of the props was a Bed!..... The show even made several of us adults feel uncomfortable.

Just set the limits with the kids.....and let them show you how responsible they are...or aren't!

Have fun!