HAL Hotel Gallery versus Hotel Jazz

BassettMom

I currently have a reservation with the HAL contracted hotel, Hotel Gallery, for my pre-cruise stay in November, but thinking about booking Hotel Jazz.

The HAL contracted hotel would include airport to hotel transfer and the hotel to ship transfer. I'm traveling solo and don't speak Spanish, and there is a certain amount of "security" in staying here since it's arranged by the cruise line, and presumably, they take care of you. On the other hand, it is almost twice as much as Hotel Jazz.

Hotel Jazz is one of the hotels recommended for Barcelona here on CC, and is ranked #26 on TripAdvisor (while Hotel Gallery is ranked #46), and I understand the location is better (although as far as the location and which I'd prefer, I'm not entirely sure where I want to stay since I'm just beginning the research on Barcelona). I'd also have to arrange transportation to the hotel, then to the ship.

Any thoughts by those who have been to either of these hotels?

Donna

We've stayed at Hotel Jazz twice for a couple of days each time. Excellent location and a well maintained hotel. No problems communicating with the front desk staff in English. I look forward to staying there again later this year.

• 2 weeks later...

We stayed at Hotel Jazz precruise this past Oct. cannot recommend it highly enough. The cab fare was very reasonable to the hotel and to the port. No language problem whatsoever. Hotel Jazz is perfectly located for all your sightseeing. Immaculate hotel, quiet and the staff is fabulous. Save your money for something else. I would pick this hotel even if the cost was the same as what the cruise line hotel cost.

You likely will find others on your roll call staying there and you may be able to share a cab to the port.

I've stayed three times st Hotel Jazz and would highly recommend it :)