Questions for someone who has sailed the same ship in Europe and the Caribbean

anonmom

I'm booked on my first cruise on the Jade out of Houston in January, but all the recent Jade reviews are from European tours. How seriously should I take descriptions of food/crew/amenities, etc? How much changes when a ship moves from one market to another?

Thanks!

Virtually no changes. The brand of some food stuff (milk products etc) does change and the entertainment on European cruises differs, but that is about it. Cruising with NCL is cruising with NCL wherever you do it.

Also because the crew rotates constantly, you can't really say how things (food/crew) on some future cruise will be because there is no way of telling who is cooking the food in any given galley atany given time. Food on NCL is generally very consistent across the fleet.

Thanks for the quick reply! That makes me feel better, since I am new to cruising and I do want to get a feel for what it will be like onboard. Just didn't want to read a bunch of reviews now and then find out everything changes when the ship is in a different part of the world!

ETA: Just read your signature and I see you've cruised on Jade several times. I'm assuming that means you like the ship. :) Have you ever gotten the spa pass? If so, was it worth it? Is the t pool nice?

Edited by anonmom

I am intrigued by this question, having only cruised NCL in Europe. I have read some reviews of US sailings and cannot square some of them with my NCL experiences in Europe.

I have a pet theory, (with no evidence to back it up:o), that there is a difference between the passenger make up between European sailings and US sailings, which changes the on-board ambience and the expectations.

Assuming that Demonyte's post is accurate (and their posts usually are), the only variables are the area sailed and the passenger clientele.

I await other answers with interest.

Edited by SteveH2508