Dine Aware - Be Aware

VitaminSea53

Currently cruising on The Solstice in New Zealand....... This is my first time on Celebrity. My most recent cruises have been on Viking.  I chose Celebrity because of the Dine Aware program since I am medically required to follow a gluten free diet and because I choose to follow a Vegan diet. I was led to believe that the items in the buffet would be marked if they were gluten free, vegetarian, milk free, etc. THAT IS NOT THE CASE. Maybe 10% of the items have signage. The others were not marked even though they were gluten free, dairy free, etc. If you ask about a particular food, the servers are good at checking with their superior and reporting back to you but that is time consuming.  Why not just mark the sign so the staff does not need to be bothered?  

I inquired to the person in charge of the buffet and his answer is that the recipes have changed recently and the signs have not been updated. REALLY?  You changed the recipe for rice and potato salad and 90% of everything else??  

So, I inquired at the Guest Relations Desk. That person said Celebrity does not have Dine Aware, I must be thinking of another cruise line. 

So, I spoke with the head of food service and he gave a reasonable answer but still not satisfying. His answer was that they cannot put signage on the buffet items because they cannot guarantee that they are not cross contaminated by other passengers. FAIR ENOUGH - anyone with a severe allergy would not eat at a buffet for that reason. But if your avoidance of gluten is because of an intolerance and not an allergy and a tiny bit won’t hurt you, then it would be nice to have the signage.  AND if what he says is true, then why is there signage on some items and not others??