CDG connection time

Pearl64

We are flying Nov. 4, 2021 to Nice hopefully for a cruise.  We are on Delta Comfort +. Originally it was GSP-ATL-JFK-NCE. There was enough time for connections but they cancelled the JFK to NCE. So, they added another stop, CDG with a 2 hour 5 minute layover before our flight to Nice. We don’t think that is enough time since we will  need to go through passport control and Covid info. I had used miles but we are contemplating  cancelling the flights using miles and purchasing a whole new flight with at least 4 hours at CDG and eliminating JFK. How much time is needed at CDG since we have to ride those shuttle buses and passport control? I know in normal times our original times would be tight. But, these are much different times.

Thank you in advance.

I'm no expert at CDG by any means, but 2 hours with any possible Covid restrictions would be less than  I would want, mostly just because of the unknowns. There are so many CDG-NCE flights, it's probably worth calling Delta and seeing if they can put you on a later Air France CDG-NCE flight. Doesn't hurt to ask. 

As an aside, I am surprised JFK-NCE was ever scheduled in November. I figured that was the definition of a summer seasonal route even in pre-Covid times. 

1 hour ago, Pearl64 said:

I had used miles but we are contemplating  cancelling the flights using miles and purchasing a whole new flight with at least 4 hours at CDG and eliminating JFK.

Very surprised that you aren't getting an option to just fly from ATL to CDG.  There are four daily flights (2 on DL, 2 on AF).  Did you inquire on that option?  Someone (or automation) just took the JFK-NCE segment and turned it into JFK-CDG-NCE.  Didn't look further back on your itinerary.

1 hour ago, Pearl64 said:

How much time is needed at CDG since we have to ride those shuttle buses and passport control?