Upgrade fairy is alive and well

zaandam_2

Good morning everyone. I booked my 1a gtys for the b2b cruise months ago and knew the risks. I was obsessively checking prices this morning (again) and found carnival's website was offering free upgrades from 1a to 4e. Jumped on the phone to my TA who called carnival. even though its well past final payment i now have an assigned 4e on the veranda deck, AND i have the same cabin for both segments.

they're acting like they actually appreciate my business.

Thanks, carnival. :D

I'm booked on the Imagination 8/24. I literally booked 2 weeks before the cruise. I used a TA I found on the internet. I've never done that before and i'm sorry I did, but.... he told me I had an Ocean View gty, but that they had assigned my cabin #. I had been upgraded to a 6B from a 6A. In researching I saw that all 6A's were being given a free upgrade to 6B. I realized that I had been fed a line as OV gty's had not been assigned yet. Today I saw that the cost of all cabins had been lowered by $40, and I read your post about the upgrade fairy. I emailed my TA and asked if he could either get me another upgrade or an On Board Credit for the $40. He sent me back a very rude and nasty email saying it couldn't be done as Carnival doesn't do that. I told him how I had read several posts where Carnival passengers had called their TA's today and gotten further upgrades or OBC's even if they had gotten their docs and were sailing soon. He told me if I didn't believe him, to call myself! He proceeded to lecture me on how I was happy with the cabin and price before and that I should just take it or lose my money!

What can I do? Can I call Carnival and ask for an upgrade or OBC? Any ideas besides not to use this TA again?

Thanks

Hi counsdr. my 1st thought is not to use that TA again, but i'm sure you've come to that conclusion already. i would never tolerate lecturing by a TA. advise, yes. lecturing no.