Using an exchange timeshare week for a cruise

I've never done this before but is it worth it to use your timeshare week for a cruise. How much would it cost you moneywise? I went to my timeshare site and the price of the cruise is the same as what I am paying now. So if you exchange your week for a cruise how much do you save, if any? I don't know how this works.

I own a timeshare in the Florida Keys, and belong to Interval International. I tried one year to exchange my week in Florida, since we do not go down anymore. From what I tried to do, it is not worth it. I don't remember how exactly it works, but I remember that I ended up not doing it. Somehow, I think it is more than the accual cruise. So I don't remember exactly how it works, but I remember not doing it. i hope this helps.

I don't think that you save that much money using your exchange for a cruise vacation...my advise is that you call your timeshare cruise rep and talk about the pros and cons of exchanging. Good luck!

You are better to either rent your week and take the money and book the cruise direct with that money. If you own with Marriott you can turn your week in for points.

They rip you off when trading for a cruise and sometimes you can book on your own for less and still have your week!!

I've looked into this several times over the past few years and every time the supplemental fee the timeshare company (RCI) wants to charge is at least the same, and usually more, than I can book the cruise for myself. So I've booked the cruise myself and kept the week or deposited it to exchange for a land based vacation.

We own weeks at Marriot Cypress Harbor and Grande Vista (lockoff).

One year I exchanged directly with II for a holiday 9 nighter on Serenade. This was back in 2001 when the lines got a pretty penny for the Xmas/New Years week.