How long to Disembark?

boredmom123

Hi Everyone and Happy Holidays! We are thinking of taking our family on our first cruise in March, and I am wondering how long it takes to get off the ship at the end, in order to catch a flight home. I imagine it takes a while, Any tips? I apologize if this has been addressed previously, as I said, I am a newbie here and trying to figure this all out! Thanks for any info-

There's no real way to tell because there are so many factors into disembarkation. But the general rule is you don't book a flight home before noon. Once the ship docks, it has to be cleared by US Customs and Immigration. Any non-US citizens have to report and be cleared by Immigration. If even one person fails to show up on time, that causes delays. Then all the luggage must be off loaded and checked by Customs and their dogs. Finally, they begin disembarking passengers. Those with the earliest flights leave first and then on and on. If all things go smoothly, the last passengers are off by 10am, sometimes a little earlier.

Edited by kitty9

Are you trying to figure out what time to book your flight home?

How long disembarkment takes can vary. Sometimes it's quick, sometimes it's slow. The cruiselines give general guidelines on when to book a flight home from different ports. If you are cruising RCCL you can use this calculator to find out their recommendations http://www.royalcaribbean.com/customersupport/faq/details.do;jsessionid=0000CnvKcBsdZANsprONky1V3cC:12hdhu87a?pagename=frequently_asked_questions&pnav=5&pnav=2&faqSubjectName=Air+Travel&faqId=2724&faqSubjectId=324&faqType=faq

For example, Port Everglades to FLL is only a 10 minute drive so you should be fine with a flight at 11am or later, but add at an hour if you want to fly home from MIA. If you are sailing out of Miami and want to fly home from MIA, a noon flight or later is best. If you want to fly home from FLL, 1pm or later.