Help please re step-up rings

Turtles06

I've never used a step-up ring before, but now I've got a wonderful Sony a6000 and several new lenses, having gone mirrorless after years with DSLRs. So I also own some not cheap B+W circular polarizing filters that fit my Nikon DSLR lenses but not the Sony lenses. Thus, I've been looking into step-up rings.

In reading about step-up rings, a concern seems to be "galling" or jamming (that is, the filter and the ring getting jammed together). Is this something I should really worry about, assuming I buy a brass or anodized aluminum step-up ring (not plain aluminum)? And are there issues with the step-up ring jamming on the lens itself?

I was looking at the reviews of 67-72mm step-up rings on B&H, and there's a brass B+W step-up ring that several folks like but one reviewer said jammed on every filter he used with it.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/11676-REG/B_W_65069436_67mm_to_72mm_Step_Up.html

Really hard to know what to make of all this, so any advice would be appreciated. Thanks!

I have to admit I'm the cheapskate of the forum, and I bought aluminum ones off eBay for the same situation as yours.

They work fine, no galling. I am if the firm belief that people that have the sticking, galling issue are over tightening them.

I screw them on until they are just snug and that's it - it's a light piece if glass, not a lugnut, but I've seen folks (OK, family members) cranking them down - I have no idea why.