Scooter for mom..:)

Gaprofitt

Hey All,

My mom recently hurt her foot and has one of those plastic boots. She can't walk much and we have a cruise next month of of Miami on NCL. I'm thinking it might be best to rent her one of those scooter machines where she can sit and be able to be mobile on the cruise.

What's the best way to do this? We will be flying down from Atlanta. Do I rent it locally and take it on the plane or just have a company deliver it to the ship? I'm a total novice in the options available but would like mom to have a good cruise and not spend a fortune as well.

Thanks,

Yes, there are a couple of companies that rent mobility scooters. I'm not sure of the companies, but you can find them on these boards. These companies will require certain info like your mom's height, weight, etc., so that they can provide the correct size scooter. They will deliver the scooter to your mom's cabin; it will be there when she boards. If she requires assistance to board the ship, you can arrange for wheelchair assistance to take her onto the ship.

BUT, VERY IMPORTANT, before you consider this option, has your mom ever operated a mobility scooter?? She will need practice with one, so that she doesn't injure herself or some else. It's not something you can just jump on and operate. I use my own scooter on the ship, and I've had my scooter for a couple of years, so I know how to maneuver in small places, i.e. hallways, elevators, etc. It may take her some time to become familiar with a scooter.

My DH purchased my scooter for me, but before he purchased it, I was able to try it out in the store, and I practiced on it for a while before we traveled anywhere with it.

Whatever you choose, have a nice cruise.

P.S. I started to post this response earlier, and I hit a button...my half-finished response disappeared; I think I deleted it, but if my first message appears, please disregard it.

Hey All,