Single Mom thinking of cruise w 10 & 12 yr olds, HELP!?

sapphiregem

Hi All,

I'm new here and I have tried searching for lots of info and i might be in overload at this point. I am looking at next Summer (i'm a planner) to take a Caribbean Cruise with my kids who will be 12 and 10 by then. I only have been on 1 cruise and i was about 13/14 at that time soooo, ya I'm a newbie to this. My parents cruise, but not with kids so their input is the adult side of things.

I already have an idea of what places i want to go to and how many ports i want on my trip, my thing is the actual boat!! I have noticed inconsistency with age groups for kids clubs and wonder if i am over thinking my kids being split up into 2 different age groups and activities...1 girl 1 boy BTW.

What should i look for as a single mom w 2 kids on a boat? How reliable are the crew to come find me should something happen? What lines should I look hard at? Am I crazy cruising alone, should I have another adult with me? (maybe to watch me but thats a diff topic lol). All seriousness will I be over my head taking a cruise w 2 kids that travel very well with me?

I know I am the only one who knows my kids, so please don't read as if I am asking on the kids behavior part, I am asking in the sense of will a cruise work for a 3 top or should i stick to traditional land vacations?

Sell me on the safety and fun of a cruise!!

Please and thank you!

Those are great ages for cruising.

Most ships have kids clubs up to age 11 and then teen clubs for the 12 to 17 year olds. Ages do vary so check carefully if having them together is important to you or if having your 12YO in a kids club (rather than a teen program) is important. Some programs or individual ship's staff will allow a 12YO to "age down" into the clubs, some will not. Check with the line for general rules.