Can Alaska be done on a budget?

Gizmorella

Hello, I’m fairly new to cruising so I hope you can all bare with me! I have only been on one cruise with my partner to the Norwegian Fjords (It was amazing and really gave us the cruising bug!). The dream now is to visit Alaska, our only problem is the budget. So I was wondering in your experience cruise critic cruisers can Alaska been done on a budget of around £3000 ($4789 US dollars)

The factors are -

1. We live in the U.K (flights alone will probably be half the budget)

2. We want to see as much as possible! Land and Cruise (Denali Park - Cruise through the Inside Passage - Glaciers.

3. Neither of us drive.

I have been researching and have seen the options for cruisetours, but they never seem to leave much time in Denali or leave us stranded on the opposite end of the map from where we need to be for a return flight.

I also understand that i’ll need to keep excursions to a minimum as they can be very expensive, but I hope to see as much wildlife as possible and cultural exhibits (Native American art).

Thanks all for any helpful suggestions or tips!

In my many years of travel in Alaska I can say that I am very careful with money. I look for the least expensive rooms on ships (usually in September) and am happy just being on the ship. You have the same food, entertainment & views from the decks as those who pay many times more.

Start by looking at packaged holidays out of the UK and study up on your options.

In lieu of a cruise/tour package, I would seriously consider doing a cruise and then self-driving with plenty of time at Denali National Park. Driving in Alaska is plain and simple. Self-driving a car or even a caravan should be part of your thinking on Alaska.