Cruise Critic heads to Costa Maya!

Cruise Critic Chris

• Members

I'm the (relatively new) Destinations editor for Cruise Critic. I'll be heading down to Costa Maya in mid-September to visit the port and check out the activities and excursions that cruise passengers can find on shore. It's my first time in Mahahual, although I've traveled all over Mexico. Got any specifics that you'd like me to look into? Let me know!

If you have the time, check out the differences between Almapena, Maya Chan and the beach clubs in Mahahual. For the beach clubs do find out the differences between what's available at each one. For example, which ones have water toys/activities besides Tequila Beach and Nohoch Kaye (which is an A.I.). Take a look at the various stand alone (not associated with beach clubs) restaurant offerings (SakHa, Maya Luna, Tapas, the newer BBQ place) and the shopping along the maleconTalk with David and Ivan at Native Choices about their Maya excrusions. There are active changes going on in the area immediately surrounding the cruise port. See you you can determine what's available (outside the Pharmacia and Tequila Musuem) for cruisers. Eat breakfast (and even stay) at El Caballo Blanco, asking Tina if cruisers are welcomed to eat there since ships arrive so early. Check out the snorkeling up at Uvero Beach, and Maya Gardens, if possible. And finally, just have a great time!

I'm trying to understand...are you going there for awhile and staying? Or by cruise ship and just spending a day there? I'm confused.