passport vs passport card

gluecksbaer

I'm wondering if excursions that are noted as requiring a passport generally allow a passport card. They would be land crossings so I would think under the law the cards would be okay but figured I would ask before wasting time researching those excursions. (If we find anything we like I will check with the tour operator to confirm before booking. I just want to make sure it's not a known issue.)

I'm not an expert on this but...I have a passport and my daughter has a card.

Not a problem when we did the train in Alaska that went into Canada.

Did you make a stop and get off in Canada? Nothing is necessary if you just go up and back without leaving the train.

A passport card will work between Canada and the US at land and rail crossings as well as sea ports but will not work for air travel if for some unfortunate reason you had to return home by air from a Canadian port. Here is a link for further details:

http://travel.state.gov/content/passports/english/passports/information/card.html

A passport card will work between Canada and the US at land and rail crossings as well as sea ports but will not work for air travel if for some unfortunate reason you had to return home by air from a Canadian port. Here is a link for further details:

http://travel.state.gov/content/passports/english/passports/information/card.html

Thanks. I understand the law in regard to cruises/travel in general. I was just wanting to check on the excursions that list "passport required" to make sure that the excursion operators didn't generally require actual passports. (We opted for the cards for our kids because of the 5yr expiration. I figure that if we can fly home from Alaska or take a train or ferry to Seattle from the ports in Canada. And if we get stuck north of Vancouver but south of Alaska it will probably be a bad enough situation that not having a passport book will be just a glitch.)