Prices for Single Traveler

Moogy

I am new at this and need advice. I think we want two separate rooms (probably balconies) for a trip to Alaska with my dad. He is 90 years old and needs to go to bed early. We think it would be good to have some privacy, both for his sake and for ours. BTW, he is on oxygen and will use a wheelchair much of the time, but won't absolutely have to have a disabled room. He can stand or walk, just not for too long or far.

1. I have been experimenting on internet reservations sites, and it appears that it will cost him almost as much for a single as it will cost for a double for my husband and me. Is this accurate?

2. How hard is it likely to be to find adjacent or connecting rooms?

3. Are there any suites with separate rooms, like family suites, such as the ones I see on some other cruise lines? I really like the HAL atmosphere, so I don't want to try another line.

Thanks for any advice. I am sure I will need to see a good travel agent. I am just trying to get my bearings first.

Prices for single travellers are generally more - HAL is one of the better lines. You can expect to pay about 150% of the double-occupancy fare for a inside or oceanview stateroom. Balcony staterooms run higher than that. I'd talk to a travel agent to see what they can do for you. The individual deck plans also list what cabins are connecting, so it might be worth it to look at some of those too :) Good luck!

I have been travelling solo for the past couple of years and generally have to pay 150% single supplement, however I have noticed that in the Alaska brochures the single supplement is 190%, due no doubt to the popularity of the Alaska cruises.

Have a great cruise.