Contact Tracing

MissP22

Does anyone know for sure how Princess performs contact tracing aboard the ships? I've read conflicting posts that it wasn't using the medallions yet some say they do? It seems like an insurmountable task to track all passengers 24/7, but other than using the medallions what other way can there be?

I do not know if they are doing it via Medallion but it is not difficult to do. I work in IT and we can see who is connected to any access points at any time and can easily log this information. It would be easy to say this infected person was in the Wheelhouse Lounge at this time - who else was in there at that time? I don't think they are doing this (scanning log files) but they could.

I know they are contacting people who you are traveling with (via a post here). So who you are sharing a cabin with and who your booking is linked with. Perhaps if you made are eating with at dinner (they scanned our medallions). Those would be obvious ways. At the most traveled lunch - they knew who we were sitting next to at the table.

Edited by Coral

If you are unlucky enough to be on an excursion with someone who has Covid-like symptoms or tests positive, you'll be contacted too.  It happened to us during our August cruise on the Majestic.  The excursion was on Wednesday and we got the call on Saturday, the last day of the cruise.  We were negative as were apparently everyone else on the excursion (from Skagway - ferry to Haines and then a bus to the Kroeschel wildlife farm).  Not sure if they also used the Medallion to figure out who the person crossed paths with but the list that I saw when we went for the test clearly was a roster of those on our excursion.

• Like 1

5 minutes ago, azbirdmom said: