LIVE * Discovery * 4-day West Coast Getaway

HBCcruiser

Host CJSKIDS
This post was recognized by Host CJSKIDS!

"Thank you for doing another Live from! Bon Voyage and enjoy your sailing!"

HBCcruiser was awarded the badge '"Live from...."' and 10 points.

Welcome to a LIVE review of our 4-day winter getaway cruise on the Discovery out of LA. I work in education and our schools are closed for President’s Day, so this cruise fit into my work schedule perfectly - not to mention the fact that I am finally retiring this year in June 🥳 🥳, so this is a retirement celebration cruise for me!  This cruise I am sailing with a long-time college friend )I call her "E") from the East Coast. We raised some H#ll in the past and have not gotten to see each other for many years, so this should be a fun reunion/retirement trip! 🥂

In 2022 I sailed on the Discovery and really enjoyed the ship and crew. Most of my cruises as of late have been on RCI or NCL so it will be interesting to see if/how much Princess has changed over the last year and a half. This will be my first time sailing with the Premiere Package too. We upgraded to the Premiere Package because we both enjoy premium wines and spirits, plus we are foodies who enjoy the specialty dining. We plan to also take advantage of the photo package by hamming it up! Last time I was on the Discovery I won $250 with Princess Prizes so we shall see how that plays out this cruise. My hopes are not high for winning anything though. Still, it is fun to play!

The weather is showing mostly sunny weather and in the mid 60’s over the four days which is normal for SoCal this time of year. We had one of those “Pineapple Express” rainstorms (STORM WATCH 2024!) move through last week, so I am really hoping for clear skies. Of course, the weather doesn’t really matter because – I’m going on a CRUISE!

This cruise stops in San Diego (day 2) and Ensenada (day 4).  

ScreenShot2024-01-31at8_11_27AM.thumb.jpeg.2619a15ee2525b9b990c97134d89c5f5.jpeg