Not Completely Understanding Price Drops?

vacation fool

Have about 4 cruises under my belt but have to admit all of this talk of price reductions has me a bit confused. I have a 2008 cruise booked with a discount travel agency. Their price is about $300 dollars under what Princess has online as an early discount. Does this mean that if Princess drops their rate any amount at all-then my travel agency should again discount my rate for that amount as well? Have read all the posts on this subject but no one ever mentions if their rate was lower than Princess's in the first place. My cruises were 1996-2001 so i guess i am a newbie to this concept. Appreciate all comments, learning alot from joining cruisecritic!:)

The answer is no. Just because Princess lowers their price doesn't mean your TA has to lower their price. If the price Princess advertised was lower than what you paid, then I'd certainly ask the TA about a discount.

Pricing is a tricky business. Many times when the price goes down then your TA can get that lower price for you. After final payment is made, this is harder to do. Last-minute fare drops (done in an effort to fill the ship) are most often noted as "for new bookings only." So if you have a booking, you would have to cancel and rebook. However, the cabin you had will likely be gone in a flash. Someone else, or many, are on a waiting list for a higher grade cabin ... so once yours becomes available it's gone. I don't recommend cancelling and rebooking.

But if you see a significant price drop, ten percent or more, then by all means ask your TA to contact the cruise line and get you the lower fare. Never hurts to ask.