Pre Cruise Hotel for Barcelona

This is my first time cruising in Europe and I'm trying to find a hotel in Barcelona for Oct 1st sailing of the Vista.

I don't know where to start it's so overwhelming.

I'm just asking for ideas on what to do and where the best area is to stay. Also what is a fair price

We have done a couple of weekend breaks from England and stayed at the Hotel Hesperia Ramblas, which is just off las Ramblas near the the Boqueria market. Great hotel, modern clean with very friendly staff.

Last time we stayed there pre cruise. When we got back off the ship at the end of the cruise, they let us use the hotel for the day at no charge as we had a late evening flight home.

This time post cruise, the Hesperia is fully booked when we are there, so we are staying at the Hotel Lleo, which a couple of cruise mates have stayed in before and have recommended it.

Problem is like any major city there are literally 100's to choose from

Don't rule out using airbnb. We did this in Krakow and it was fantastic. Gave us at least a little bit of a feeling of what it used to be to live like a Commie :)

Also - Booking.com has a good selection of hotels and apartments. We got an apartment in Barcelona, near Placa Espanya. Other good spots to look around to stay in Barcelona is along La Rambla as well as Placa Catalunya.

For us at least, by booking apartments, it took a little sterility out of the stay. If you like the comfort of a hotel they may not be the best but otherwise we'll be doing a lot of apartment adventures when we travel in the future.

Edited by fuddrules

This is my first time cruising in Europe and I'm trying to find a hotel in Barcelona for Oct 1st sailing of the Vista.

I don't know where to start it's so overwhelming.

I'm just asking for ideas on what to do and where the best area is to stay. Also what is a fair price

Jump over to the roll call, quite a few of are stopping over before getting on board.