Shore excursions for Florence

Artcricket

My husband and I will be taking an 11 day cruise on Norwegian Jade next March. I would appreciate advise on which independent tour companies people would recommend for seeing Florence. I am a retired high school art teacher so art and architecture are top on my list

Artcricket,

I would post on the Ports of Call and also look at Trip Advisor and do a goggle search of other Florence sites.

when I was on a cruise, I knew exactly what I wanted to see in Tuscany. found a private tour and the guide was a wine expert. we emailed each other and planned a great day including a local boutique winery, wine tasting and lunch on the veranda overlooking the vineyards with numerous bottles of Chianti.

As an Art teacher, I hope you do a private tour of the Ufizzi and the Academia. We hired a local tour guide, who was art historian, when we did a land tour of Tuscany years ago.

She met us at a cafe , had the tickets and we spent two hours in the Ufizzi and one hour in Academia. when I went into gallery 2 at the Ufizzi and saw Giotto Madonna, newly restored ,on the wall across from the entrance, I burst into tears. It was the most beautiful painting I have ever seen. I just wanted to sit in that gallery and reflect on the painting for a whole hour, but alas, we moved on and saw many more great paintings, up close, with our guide pointing out the richness, technique and the historical apects of the paintings she took us to

observe.

Many of the private tours you find on Port of Calla are drivers, local guides who know the sights but not real docents.

have a wonderful time in Florence. It is a city one can visit many times.

Many of the private tours you find on Port of Call are drivers, local guides who know the sights but not real docents.

have a wonderful time in Florence. It is a city one can visit many times.