Europe Shore Excursions

trvlgirlmq

Rarely take ship excursions. We have been to the Med and Greek Isles a couple of time so already know what we will be doing in almost every port.

Yes, me too...I always get on my roll call and book through italytoursharing.com but some of the transfers ( no tours) are nice to book from the ship! Depending on price though.

The only ship excursion I am interested in would be Izmir. I have no experience with Turkey and have read some questionable reviews about local guides. Other than that we will DIY all but Florence, where we will use RIL.

We booked Izmir through Ephesus Shuttle. They have good reviews on TA and here. Several tours to choose from and the prices are very reasonable.

We have 4 private tours currently booked just due to ease factors in certain ports. We will DIY the others. I am sure Carnival can come nowhere near the per person prices we got for groups of 8.

We booked Izmir through Ephesus Shuttle. They have good reviews on TA and here. Several tours to choose from and the prices are very reasonable.

We have 4 private tours currently booked just due to ease factors in certain ports. We will DIY the others. I am sure Carnival can come nowhere near the per person prices we got for groups of 8.

I will have to research it a bit more, but some of the reviews I have read about local guides have been less than wonderful saying that whole buses of tourists are taken to sketchy places that are obviously in cahoots with the tour guides and they try sell them stuff. One said they were taken to a "fashion show" that was creepy and then after people tried to hard sell them leather goods. Another review had a similar experience except they were taken to a carpet place.

• 4 weeks later...

How does it work with excursion?