Alaska - Nikon D5000 or FZ200?

andver13

I leave for Alaska 4 weeks today and will practice with the camera for a few days between now and then. Please give me some advice between borrowing my Dad's Nikon D5000 (lens AF-S nikkor 18-55mm, 3.5-5.6) or buying a FZ200. If I borrow the Nikon I will purchase a Tamron AF 70-300mm f/4.0-5.6 SP Di VC USD XLD for it to hopefully get some decent wildlife pics (although I'm a complete newbie with DSLR). The price of the Tamron lens ($420) and FZ200 ($470) are almost the same on Amazon Canada.

My photography experience - limited to mostly point & shoot cameras. I have a Sony DSC WX300 which we used for Europe in 2013. Captured the moments and photos were okay but underwhelming. Would like to capture some better Alaska photos.

I think the main opportunities for photos will be: Denali 2 days, Seward to Anchorage train, Hubbard, Juneau Whale watching excursion, Skagway Chilkoot train, Ketchikan town, ISP town, Vancouver, and then Whistler BC with some moderate hiking at the mountain peaks, etc. Will likely need both a wide enough lens for landscapes and around the ship as well as some telephoto for wildlife.

So I guess the questions are:

• Nikon D5000 with 2 lenses as noted above or the PZ200?
  • Can one get decent shots with the D5000 with very limited DSLR experience?
  • Is it worth carrying around the extra weight of the D5000 for what may be better (slightly better?) photos?

Any and all help appreciated.

Based on your listed experience and the quality of what you can get out of the FZ200, I'd go with the FZ200. (There's actually a lot of reasoning behind that short answer. :) )

There are many on this forum that routinely pump out remarkable photos with the FZ200 and while it has a lot of advanced features, it is more P&S friendly than any DSLR.

Enjoy Alaska!

Dave

Take a look at this Photo & Camera Discussion thread

http://boards.cruisecritic.com/showthread.php?t=1694983