Should I let Royal Caribbean pick my cabin?

jonyboy

3 hours ago, jonyboy said:

I'm new to Royal Caribbean, booking through a TA who told me it would be an additional $1200 to pick my own cabin instead of letting them pick it.  Seems a bit steep to me

If you will be happy with the least expensive cabin in the CATEGORY (such as: inside, obstructed view, ocean view, veranda, suite, etc.)  YOU SELECT, you might want to save that money.

A glass half empty person would say that picking a specific cabin will cost you $1,200, while a glass half full person would feel that letting the line assign the cabin (in whichever category you select) will save you $1,200..

Edited by navybankerteacher

3 hours ago, jonyboy said:

I'm new to Royal Caribbean, booking through a TA who told me it would be an additional $1200 to pick my own cabin instead of letting them pick it.  Seems a bit steep to me

Early on, I booked a Holland America TransAtlantic from a mail-order travel agent which only sold by Category. When I realized that the smallest interior only had one small chair for sitting (in addition to the bed), I upgraded us to Oceanview for a loveseat and the chair. The room was fine, but it was under the nightclub!!! That was my last Guarantee. Even if it cost steep bucks.

So check the location of the worst room you might get, not just its size on the deckplan.

Edited by crystalspin
  • Like 2

25 minutes ago, navybankerteacher said:

If you will be happy with the least expensive cabin in the CATEGORY (such as: inside, obstructed view, ocean view, veranda, suite, etc.)  YOU SELECT, you might want to save that money.

A glass half empty person would say that picking a specific cabin will cost you $1,200, while a glass half full person would feel that letting the line assign the cabin (in whichever category you select) will save you $1,200..

It will be a balcony room, we know that much

35 minutes ago, jonyboy said:

It will be a balcony room, we know that much