Why binoculars?

This is an honest request for insight.

We've been cruising for 30+ years and never once have I felt the need for binoculars. I have a nice pair that belonged to my Dad, but have never packed them when on a trip or used them at all since he passed in the early '80s. I'm sure this is because I've been using some kind of camera or another since I was about 10 years old and a telephoto is my go-to for distant subjects. My mindset has always been to share my travel experiences with family and friends and "a picture is worth a thousand words" is a phrase that carries the weight of religion with me (and explains my abysmal typing skills).

Share your thoughts and opinions. 

Dave 

• Like 1

I always say "we should bring them since we have them" and some how they always get left behind.  We are going to iceland this summer on the Eclipse, lets see if they make it this time.  I would like to have them along for watchng for wildlift that is beyond the range for my 200mm lens, really a 280 when add in the crop factor but still.

I have struggled with whether to bring binoculars on a cruise. We never have, but plan to on the next one.

I have a larger pair of Nikon binoculars I use at home (rarely) to view wildlife on my property, but I recently bought a small Leupold pair that I plan to bring on our next voyage in November.

I expect to keep them on the balcony, not while on an excursion, but we'll see. They are lightweight enough that throwing them in a bag won't be overwhelming.