Just got an email regarding the increase in gratuity

Ckrewz

This is my first time starting a thread!!! :)

Thought I would share:

IMPORTANT INFORMATION

CARNIVAL'S NEW GRATUITY GUIDELINES

November 1, 2011

Hi there!

While we're sure you're not quite packing your bags yet, we thought we'd take a moment to provide you with some important information regarding gratuities for your upcoming vacation.

After careful consideration, our gratuity guidelines will be increasing from $10.00 per person per day to $11.50 per person per day with voyages departing December 1, 2011 and onward. Guests who have pre-paid their gratuities will not be affected by this change.

While decisions like these are never easy, increases to gratuity guidelines are common with all cruise lines. In our case, we have not increased our gratuity guidelines since 2001. Additionally, this new amount will put us in line with most other cruise lines in the industry.

Our shipboard team members work very hard to provide you with top-notch service so we hope you'll agree this increase is well deserved.

Tipping, as you know, is at your discretion. So even though gratuities are automatically added to your onboard Sail & Sign account as a convenience, you are always free to adjust as you please.

We thank you for your understanding. We are committed to providing you with a fun and memorable cruise experience and look forward to welcoming you aboard!

Sincerely,

vicky_rey_signature.jpg

Vicky Rey, CTC

Vice President - Guest Services

Please do not reply to this email as it is not monitored.

Got this email too. $1.50 per day is not a huge deal, but I am sick and tired of getting nickel & dimed to death. IMO, This should have gone out a month before implementation. Glad I already chose pre-paid tips on all of my upcoming bookings.

You ARE given the option. Read the entire e-mail. You can do as you please.