how do you get the time off??

For those of you who cruise constantly...how do you get out of work that much??

I'm semi-retired and work three days a week. My boss let's me take off anytime I want. Nice situation! My wife is a High School English teacher, so we can cruise at winter break, spring break and ten weeks during the summer.

Work is highly over-rated.

Kel:)

I do not cruise constantly, but still do... I cruise during "breaks" in my schedule (I am a school teacher).

I am willing to bet that others can cruise constantly because they are retired. Friends of our family love cruising and can strictly because they have retired. This is my guess that many others will give.

I'm semi-retired and work three days a week. My boss let's me take off anytime I want. Nice situation! My wife is a High School English teacher, so we can cruise at winter break, spring break and ten weeks during the summer.

Work is highly over-rated.

Work really is over-rated.

Get 5 weeks of vacation ( been there 31 Years:eek:) dh gets 3 weeks but gets week after Christmas through Jan.2 without counting as vacation. Last year and this coming Holiday season , we took advantage of the week of and after Christmas and did an 18 day Last year and an 11 day after Christmas this year. That splits up the days so all of them are not in the same year. This only takes 5 days out of the new year! That's how we managed to get another one in this month. It's 10 days but the 2 weekend that are in the cruise do not count as time against vacation. It's in the planning!!!!

We are both 50 so ...no we are not even close to retirement.

We get 3 weeks of vacation per year, plus 12 mandatory unpaid furlough days. Plus if we work overtime we have to take compensory time for it, no pay.

Yuck!

We work in manufacturing. We do a lot overtime and yes we get paid for it but the time away from work is so much nicer. Guess it's a give and take.