Just back from the Monarch! Thoughts from a "big ship" kind of girl.

When I started reading these boards, I never thought I'd be a frequent cruiser. Perhaps I'm still a newbie compared with many of you, but with 5 cruises under my belt (2 this year plus an upcoming cruise this November), I FEEL like a frequent cruiser! :) To date, I've only cruised the big ships: Mariner, Freedom and Allure (twice). I've always wanted to try a "small" ship, and a few months ago, I booked Monarch of the Seas.

Why Monarch?

First, it fit into a Florida family visit we had scheduled at the end of July; cruising from Port Canaveral was only a short drive for us. Second, the price was right to bring our family of 5 onboard. Third, it would bring our C&A status to Platinum. Finally, and most importantly, it would be a great way to celebrate my husband's 40th birthday.

Admittedly, I was apprehensive about Monarch. Sure, I was excited that we'd be taking another cruise, but she was so SMALL and OLD compared to the other ships I had sailed. Plus, I was worried that my children (ages 12.5, almost 9, and almost 4) would be bored. So, how was it? Read on...

We booked 2 connecting F2 Ocean view staterooms. If I ever complained about the size of our previous staterooms (I don't think I have!), then I could easily complain about the size of Monarch's staterooms.

The staterooms are small, but adequate for two people. I really missed having a sofa/love seat - that little extra space makes a difference. The TV is a small, tube, and non-interactive, but it works. However, the stateroom was clean, had comfortable beds, had a large enough closet for the amount of time we were there (4 nights), and had a vanity with 4 drawers and shelves. Oh, I finally experienced that small, clingy shower curtain, leak like the Watergate shower. Wouldn't bat an eye if I never had to experience that again.