Cruise Next Deposits Expiring

Cmco1

Hi All,

I received a call late yesterday from NCL that our Cruise Next deposit, 500.00, was expiring at midnight last night. We had it assigned to a cruise that was cancelled by NCL in June.   I was told by the representative that unless we booked a future cruise on the spot we would lose our deposit.  Any advice from you much more experienced cruisers on recouping this?  Does this seem correct to you all that they are swallowing deposits like this with the immediate future of cursing so up in the air?  

I called on Monday to cancel a booking that I had for February.  I specifically asked the agent what would be happening with Cruise Next certificates.  She stated that the expiration date would be extended commensurate with the length of the cruise shutdown.  I would call the Cruise Next desk directly to discuss.  Your call may have come from a PCC that was trying to use an angle to get you to book ASAP.

I'm not an expert but noted another post on here about a week ago where someone had a CN that had already been extended and assigned to a cruise that was later cancelled, they were told it could only be extended once and after the cancelled cruise reverted back to the original expiry date. They had expected the 1 year extension to still apply after the cancelled trip but apparently not in their case.

Had your had the normally allowed extension?

It did not sound right to me and I'm no expert, just repeating what was said before.

2 hours ago, casofilia said:

We had used Cruise Next certificate on each of two cruises in Jan/Feb 2021 that were cancelled.   We had  cruises already booked for late 2022 and they were easy transferred to those.

This isn't about any transfers.    It's about expired Cruise Next.