Advice on Binoculars for Alaska Cruise

hrt4girls

We have finally booked the Alaska cruise that we have been wanting to take for 25 years.  I would like to purchase binoculars to take along.  I have no experience buying them.  The web searches that I have done suggest that we should have 8x30.  Looking on Amazon, there are so many choices, ranging from $20 to $300.  I am thinking that you get what you pay for at some degree.  We will  not be using them much after the cruise, so I don't want to overpay for something to sit on the shelf, but I want them to work on the cruise.  Does anyone have specific suggestions about what to buy?  My husband and I both wear glasses and I don't know if that affects how they will work for us.  Your advice would be appreciated.

I bought a pair of Canon IS 10x30 before our Alaska cruise and one of the best purchases I have ever made.  They are expensive.   However the image stabilization works fantastic.  It takes the shake away from the image and I can look through them for a long while without getting a headache from the normally shaking image.

Since the Alaska cruise, I use them for football games, other cruises, and have gotten more use than I had thought.

@hrt4girls:  Bird watching magazines have reviews of binoculars which may be handy.  Check your local library.  

But while reading reviews is helpful it is so important to actually hold binoculars in your hand before buying.  My husband is a birder so we have multiple pairs around the house.  His favorite is a Zeiss Victory HT 10 x 42.  He absolutely loves them by they don't fit well in my hands and I find them incredibly heavy.  My own favorite pair is a Nikkon.  Binoculars are not a "one size fits all" sort of product.  So head over to a local sporting goods store, talk to the personnel and start trying on binoculars.