How do you book a cruise with all of these sketchy travel agencies?

Alaskabound77

I don't plan on changing my purchasing habits, which revolve around a very large, very reputable online agency. I talk to the same TA I have had for years. I consistently get 7%-10% or more off cruise line direct.

To say "all of these travel agencies" is a pretty broad brush statement. The world cruise fiasco is about one bad apple. The vast majority of agencies are honest, have good business practices, and will afford you a better deal than cruise line direct IMHO.

I have used a travel agency for all of my trips for the last 40 years and have only had one lousy agency. I was an agent myself for ten years so I feel that I know what to look for. Our present agency, for the last 5 years, we heard about when we went on the first Grand Voyage to Asia and the South Pacific. They had a group of about 250 people from all over the world and every one spoke most highly of them. The following year we booked with them and have been loyal customers ever since. They take care of everything. We filled out the immigration questionaire the first year and haven't since. Our agent knows our cabin prefence and dining preference. All I do is email her with a possible idea, she emails back the price, and we are good to go. The agency is also very highly rated by Conde Nast Travel magagzine. Hope this helps.

To say "all of these travel agencies" is a pretty broad brush statement. The world cruise fiasco is about one bad apple. The vast majority of agencies are honest, have good business practices, and will afford you a better deal than cruise line direct IMHO.

Yes, I used a broad brush to generate more attention to the post.

Thank you - it sounds like you can get a better price through a TA so they should spend some time seeking out a reputable one.

Yes, I used a broad brush to generate more attention to the post.

amatuer. you should have used a thumbs down or angry face, too. joking ;)