scooters?

Banditswife

My 90 year old mother is considering joining us for a cruise. She is very active & has few mobility issues. But I think she would be happier & less stressed if we could somehow get her a scooter to ride instead of walking on the decks. My questions are: does CCL rent them? If not, can we bring one from home? What type of problems can we expect? I have no experience with this & am looking for advice from those of you who have experience. Any tips from fellow scooter riders? Any thoughts that I might need to consider? Thanks I appreciate your help.

Carnival doesn't rent them but there are several companies that do. Yes, you can bring the one from home.

The doorways are narrow, less than 22" without the door, which is at least an inch or so. (About 20" clearance.) You can rent a scooter that will fit thru a regular cabin doorway.

Scooters cannot be left in the hallways, only stored in your cabin.

Handicapped cabins have an adequate door width. There are two types-Modified accessible with a wider door and fully accessible with roll in shower etc.

The Disabled Cruising board has lots of info.

Sent from my iPhone using Forums mobile app

Edited by SadieN

Thank you SadieN. I forgot about the disabled cruising board, thank you for the reminder. Will check there. She doesn't really need the walk/roll in shower of a handicapped cabin, but the door width is something I forgot to think about. Storing the scooter will also be something we need to consider while onboard. Thx, just the type of input I am looking for.

Carnival doesn't rent them but there are several companies that do. Yes, you can bring the one from home.

The doorways are narrow, less than 22" without the door, which is at least an inch or so. (About 20" clearance.) You can rent a scooter that will fit thru a regular cabin doorway.

Scooters cannot be left in the hallways, only stored in your cabin.