Other cruise lines?

We have only done P&O cruises up until now and next year is now in our thoughts. We were wondering about trying other cruise lines and how they compare with P&O.

In your experience of other lines which is the closest to P&O without actually being them. I expect in the end we will stay with who we know and enjoy but it's still worth looking at others as well if just out of curiosity.

Thanks for any help:)

I would agree about Princess.

For something 'as British' as P&O you could look at Thomson? Fly cruising from your local airport, to get you to the sun quicker, or sailing ex Newcastle, I believe.

Entertainment is very good; excursions good; MDR poor but buffet good

If you like the britishness of P&O the alternatives would be Fred Olsen and Thomson (soon to be TUI) I have no experience of Fred but cruise about equally P&O and Thomson. Thomson are older ships with a more relaxed atmosphere. Their TUI Discovery and Discovery 2 are in my opinion at least as good as Arcadia/Aurora/Oceana/Oriana and a similar size.

Princess are, I believe, similar in many respects to P&O, and I prefer the greater number of nationalities that you will meet on board. We have defected to P&O due to the exchange rate, as everything on Princess is priced in $. If the exchange rate ever improves we will be straight back on board!

Sent from my SM-T700 using Forums mobile app

Thanks everyone for your replies. Yes I've never wondered why we like P&O but it is indeed the Britishness. Looks to me that it's worth having a look at Princess as most of you suggested. Fly cruising isn't possible for us for health reasons and living in Southampton makes Princess a possible alternative if not it's back to pando :)

Thanks again:)