Currency requirements

BigAl1950

Hi, this is my first time on this site so hello to everyone.

I am relatively new to cruising, this will only be my 5th.

I am cruising on the Diamond Princess from Beijing to Bangkok in 4 weeks time and have a couple of questions. I am hoping someone will be able to help.

Firstly, as we will be visiting 6 different countries and intend to go ashore in each one can anyone tell me is it advisable to take currency for each of the Countries visited.

Secondly, I have found out that as we are flying to Beijing and staying there for 3 nights prior to the cruise, the taxi fare to the ship is £160. Does anyone know of a cheaper (easy) way to get to the port? (Tianjin)

Many thanks

BigAl1950

Welcome to Cruise Critic.

You do not list the countries you will visit, so this will be a generic answer for that part of the world. In general, in most East Asian countries, the US$ is accepted in most businesses. Often, public transportation an museums will require local currency.

You can almost always get local currency on the ship the day you dock, but their rates tend to be high. Alternatively, you can find a cash machine near the dock and use your debit card to get some cash. It is always advisable to have a small amount of local currency when you head out on your own in any country, even while traveling in the USA. Not a lot, but enough for incidentals.

Google your request for info on transportation and it will in all likelihood bring you back to a Cruise Critic with good information.

Have fun!

You obviously need Chines Yen - for other countries you can make the exchange from US$ locally if needed. Many will prefer US$ rather than local currency. Only for official places you will need local currency.

Just a warning. If you visit Hong Kong and you have a Chinese port of call afte Hong Kong, you will need a multiple entry visa for China.