heat wave?

sueajp

I have always dreamed of a mediterranean cruise but my DH and our cruise buddies are afraid of how how it will be in the summer. Is it really unbearable? Would you discourage someone who has trouble walking and hates heat? Our favorite cruise was a Princess cruise of England, Scotland, Ireland, Norway, France and Belgium. I always count on Cruise critic for help! Thanks. :confused:

Hi there,

Thanks for the quick responses. The trouble is I am a teacher and cannot travel during those times. Everyone is waiting for me to retire to do that.... but don't want to be too old! LOL..

July and August can be brutal in the Eastern Med. Think mid 90s. Lots of walking. Go in June, the earlier the better. EM

Ah. That would be about 10-12 degrees cooler than our first cruise-W. Carib in early June. Went to Tulum. My definition of hot and humid was re-defined. And I grew up on the coast of Mississippi.

Ah. That would be about 10-12 degrees cooler than our first cruise-W. Carib in early June. Went to Tulum. My definition of hot and humid was re-defined. And I grew up on the coast of Mississippi.

The summer sun in this part part of the world is more intense than anything I experienced in the US. Besides the heat and humidity, the summer means incredibly strong and burning sunshine, so you need to be vigilant about sun protection: never go out for even a short while without a hat (preferably with more coverage than a baseball cap), sunglasses, sunscreen, and always, always a bring along a bottle of water that you sip from regularly- it's too late if you wait until you feel thirsty.

Israelis often go over to a red faced, weak looking tourist that they pass on a bus or on the street, hand them a cup or bottle of water, and stand by them until they take a drink. I think tourists are sometimes so afraid that if they drink they'll have to use the facilities that they become dangerously careless about becoming dehydrated or worse!