COSTA vs MSC

st1100y2k

I did one Costa cruise (Greek Isles) and two MSC voyages (both Caribbean), and I have an MSC trip planned this Fall.

As a previous poster says, it has a lot to do with where you are cruising, but I really didn't care for the Costa experience (age and condition of the ship- Victoria, and the food).

One thing that drove me crazy on the Costa cruise was how many smoking areas there were. They divided the lounges into smoking and non-smoking areas, but no effort was made to contain the smoke to the smoking areas. Quite often, there were no seats available in non-smoking so you either sat with the smokers (and there were lots of them on the Med cruise), or you went elsewhere. Being an ex-smoker, maybe that bothers me more than it would you.

But, OP, you have been on 2 Costa voyages, so I am sure you are already aware of those points.

To me, what sets MSC apart is how gorgeous the public areas of their ships are. Their food is wonderful, too!

We have sailed with Costa once and we did enjoy it. Food and service were very good. Our only issue was how busy the ship was as it was a Mediterranean cruise and in the summer. Now that said we sailed in the Caribbean on Divina, also in the summer, unfortunately our birthdays and anniversaries are in the summer. And experienced exactly the same problem, actually it was worse. A lesson learnt, never sail from Miami in the summer. Unfortunately the special deals etc did appear to reflect the passenger demographic. All of our other MSC cruises have been off peak and a far more pleasant experience.

I don't mean to be rude, but I haven't read too many good reviews about Costa. I wonder how they fill their ships. Is it because they have the cheapest cruise fares?

Costa is slightly more expensive than MSC and has a lot of loyal supporters in Europe. But while MSC is MSC, Costa now is just one small stone in the Carnival Empire. So this old rivalery is not the same like before.