Getting burned booking independent tours?

styme123

It's great to see all of these posts about all the tours that you guys have booked on the BI. I'm going to BI this summer and have been looking into booking independent shore excursions. I prefer to stay away from the big bus tours offered by the cruise ships. I'm kind of new to the whole independent booking thing. Any advice on how to keep from being responsible for extra money on a tour if someone backs out of a spot. I worry that if I book the tour and pay for it and someone canceled I have to pay for their portion. I do see that some tours will let you pay most of the price the day of but more of them seem to want it up front. Any suggestions? Have you ever gotten burned? Anything I should be mindful of when dealing with the excursion companies themselves?

1)check  the policy if the ship does not make port what the refund policy is?

2) see if the tour guide  will accept payments from each person/couple in the group  or if one person needs to put up the finds in advance

if one person  needs to put up the funds ahead of time  make sure you collect from the others  as soon as you can well before the tour date  with the understanding if they cancel ..too bad  unless you can find   replacements for the tour  (tough love approach)

JMO

We did not book any small group independent excursions. I'd also be worried about getting stuck if someone flaked out. We booked a couple of excursions with reliable tour companies. They offered products similar to what Princess has but at a better price. For instance our excursion from Invergordon took us to Urquhart Castle, a cruise on Loch Ness, the Clava Cairns, and Cawdor Castle for less than half the price that Princess offered.

1 hour ago, LHT28 said:

1)check  the policy if the ship does not make port what the refund policy is?

2) see if the tour guide  will accept payments from each person/couple in the group  or if one person needs to put up the finds in advance